The Orchid Forum, for the UK and Europe (previously known as The UK Orchid Forum) • View topic - Advice needed for new lighting setup
It is currently Thu Jan 18, 2018 12:54 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]

PostPosted: Fri Mar 06, 2015 11:36 pm 
Still settling in
Still settling in

Liked in: 0 post
Hi everyone. It's been a long time since I last posted here (not that I was a particularly regular poster anyway) but I hope it's ok to pop back in and ask for some advice!

I've finally moved my orchids to a proper growing area as I moved house and haven't got windowsills (or my sister's old bedroom) to keep them in anymore. The only available corner is far too dark so I need some lighting. I've never used lights before and have googled myself into such a state of confusion that I need to ask for help. :crazy:

Here are some photos:
Attachment:
IMG_0793.JPG
IMG_0793.JPG [ 101.97 KiB | Viewed 1690 times ]
Attachment:
IMG_0792.JPG
IMG_0792.JPG [ 100 KiB | Viewed 1690 times ]

The unit is 180cm tall, 60cm wide and 40cm deep with a gap of approximately 45cm between each shelf. There is not much space between the plants and the shelf above.

It's located in a very visible place from my living room and sofa so I don't want red/blue bulbs or anything orangey, something daylight coloured would be best. I don't want anything that gives off heat or needs replacing too frequently or is too expensive... I know what light levels I need to create but I'm not sure how to work out what I need to achieve it, eg. what kind of bulbs, wattage or how many...

I grow mostly Phals but I also have a few small Neofinetia and one Angraecum sesquipedale, Leptotes bicolor and Prosthecea cochleata which will probably all go on the top shelf where the Gromit figures are at the moment.

I'm eager for suggestions so I hope that's enough information. If this was your grow area what would you do?

PostPosted: Sat Mar 21, 2015 12:13 pm 
Still settling in
Still settling in